top of page



Mrs Claire Cunningham (Head of Department)

Mrs Liz McAllister

Mrs Natalie Kean

Mrs Emma Boyle

Mrs R O’Brien

Mr Martin Douglas

Mr Conchur McCullough (Technician)


The main aims of the Science department are:

  • To stimulate and sustain curiosity, interest and enjoyment in Science

  • To make pupils aware of the relevance of Science in everyday life

  • To develop a sense of wonder about the world

  • To help pupils to care for themselves and their environment

  • ·To encourage pupils to think logically, independently and critically

  • To ensure pupils understand the need for safe working practice


Key Stage 3

In Years 8 – 10, pupils study a range of topics from the three Science disciplines, Chemistry, Biology and Physics. The Key Stage 3 curriculum has been designed to allow pupils to experience a wide range of practical work and group activity.


Key Stage 4

The science department offers 2 courses of study atKey Stage 4: (Click on the links for more information)


Post 16

There are two available courses of study at Key Stage 5:


Career Progression


Inspiring People

Tim Berners-Lee, Stephen Hawking, Jane Goodall, David Attenborough, Marie Curie, Rosalind Franklin, Elizabeth Blackburn


“Science is simply the word we use to describe a method of organising our curiosity”

— Tim Minchin


bottom of page